Radio’s Dying but Still Alive


My news director recently sent me a link to an article on the death of radio.
Unfortunately the link is no longer active but the essence of it was that a top radio exec  told people in the business that radio as we know  it today will be dead in 20 years.
I think he’s optimistic.  I don’t think it will take that long.
On the other hand, it seems to be  pretty alive and active today, at least where I place spots.
I just produced a :30 sec with our president, Maravene Loeschke,  to promote our new leadership brand. I placed it with about 20 stations around Pennsylvania and New York State and didn’t think much more about it.   I did a 10-day flight schedule.  Not long after that the president rushed into my office.  “Dennis, that radio spot we did, can you play it for me?”
Being a typical PR director I thought something was wrong.
(Sometimes I think for public relations directors, PR  means “paranoia rampant.”)
“I just want to hear it,” she continued.  “People have been stopping me all over telling me how they heard the spot and how much they liked it and how they liked my voice.”  I, of course, was immensely relieved, especially with the last comment about her voice since she spent 30 some years as an educator/administrator/actress.
A few days later our media person in Harrisburg asked if I’d send him the spot. He said a lot of people around the state capitol had  been talking about it.
Last week my student worker came in saying, “I’ve been hearing your voice all over the place.”
I asked where and she listed off different stations and different commercials.  “I thought you didn’t listen to radio,” I said.
“I do when I’m driving and I’ve been doing a lot of that lately,” she answered.
So I’m pausing to rethink things .  I don’t have hard figures, but I’m getting a  lot of anecdotal evidence that a lot of folks  still listen to radio.
I’m continue to move into the evolving new media.
But maybe I won’t turn that dial as fast as I had planned.

PS.  I realized, reading this over, that turn that dial dates me.  Does anyone under 30 even understand  that phrase?

6 responses to “Radio’s Dying but Still Alive

  1. The media competition between the Internet and radio/television is not based so much on content as on technology. The content is there for the taking (or buying?), but we may even now be exhausting the pool of potential users who are not put off by technology. Now we’re faced with the daunting task of matching or exceeding the ease of access we’ve come to expect from day-to-day radio and TV access.

    It seems that what is needed to close the circle (leaving radio on the outside?) is the availability of affordable-by-the-masses extremely user-friendly ‘boxes’ that can be mounted on, near or in a TV set or FM radio by-passing or completely hiding the PC and IPod technology. Such a box would capture Internet streams and convert them to a format that we can hear on rado and view on our HDTV screens.

    In marketing terms, we must shift our focus from marketing the technology and production to marketing the content. There is very little useful discussion about how to compel the non-techies, the folks down the street to look to the Internet for information and entertainment they now enjoy so conveniently on their radio orTV.

    Of course, even when that happens we haven’t replaced Radio/TV, we’ve simply added the Internet to the broadcast media mix and life goes on.

  2. Bob,
    Thanks for the comment and insight. I agree about marketing content, and you’re right. If non-techies aren’t interested in looking at the Net you’re not going to push them into it.
    At the same time, a lot of non-tech people began learning to use email to communicate with their kids and grand kids. They’re hopping aboard the digital camera bus for the same reason — to send and receive family photos.
    So we have non tech folks learning enough technology to send and receive content. My 78–year-old mother is one of them.
    Again, thanks for your thoughtful note.

  3. hmm! thanks, usefull :)

  4. In higher education, in my humble opinion radio is great for marketing graduate schools. Over 69% of prospective graduate students would like to study within 50 miles of their house, making radio very useful.

    for more info, please visit my blog as well
    marketmpb.blogspot.com

  5. Charley Hadley

    hey my i please have the link to the aritcle

  6. very good article

Leave a Reply

