The Higher Ed Marketing Blog

Legit? Scam? Beware.

June 12, 2008 · 6 Comments

Note: I’ve edited this and corrected the url. Apologies to mylocal.com which is still undergoing site changes.

This posting is for PR folks and others responsible for advertising.

I got a call yesterday from a sales rep selling listings on www.local.com. The woman, who had a heavy accent, read from a script and couldn’t veer from it, which always makes me suspicious. I asked for the site address, which she gave me. I visited it while I answered more questions.

The first red flag popped up when she said I needed to give her the last four digits of my social security number or my birth date. This was for my personal security code to get on the page, or whatever. . . .

“You need this for what?”

She read the script again. I played along and gave her my birth date, day and month.

When she finished she said she had to put her supervisor on.

The big red flag rose. It’s happened to me before.

The first time was a few decades ago when I was out of work and my wife was pregnant. I answered an ad, found myself in a seedy motel conference room with an equally seedy guy telling all of us down-and-out suckers how we could make a million dollars selling fire alarms. All we had to do was get into a family’s home and show a video of a fire that killed the family’s children.

Then Diamond Jim walked out wearing a thousand dollar suit, rings polished to glint in the overhead lights and movie star white teeth. He told us that he had a yacht, a sports car and took vacations around the world and we could too. All we had to do was sell fire alarms (playing to the most elemental fear of all parents) and move up in the organization.

Capitalism at its most brutish.

Back to www.local.com The second woman, the supervisor, asked me more questions and mentioned in passing that we would get a free 30 day listing in a prominent spot on the page. If we didn’t contact them within the 30-day grace period we’d be added to their site for $49.95 a month.

I stopped her there and said I wasn’t trying anything that automatically subscribes me if I don’t contact them. I also told her I thought the site was shallow and of not much use.

And I hung up.

I sent a warning message to our town chamber members to give them a heads up.

www.local.com models itself after Yellowbook. I suppose it’s legit but it’s of little use to local or regional advertisers unless I’m missing something in the bigger picture. You get your phone number and address listed for $50 a month on a site that offers nothing else but the weather. That’s it.

I’m wary of this one. If you’re not responsible for advertising, pass this on to the folks who are.

Categories: advertising · higher education · public relations
Tagged: , ,

6 responses so far ↓

  • Howard Guy // June 12, 2008 at 5:00 am | Reply

    I know in Australia there is a mylocal site that seems to be a part of ninemsn.com.au and it is legit.

    Even if this was legitimate i would still not trust a business that has that terrible a phone sales person it does not bode well for a business as a whole!

    Howard – http://salespro.wordpress.com/

  • anonymous // June 13, 2008 at 2:36 pm | Reply

    note that although you changed the http://www.local.com in the text, the link is still pointing to http://www.mylocal.com. you need to correct the url.

  • Dennis Miller // June 13, 2008 at 4:26 pm | Reply

    Fixed. Thanks.

  • ethan // September 24, 2008 at 12:34 am | Reply

    Just got off the phone with ‘local.com;’ after already being scammed by yellowbook, this sounded extremely familiar. Both reps from local.com could not explain how any person going online would be directed to there specific website. It is most definitely a scam, as is yellowbook of which I am locked into with a contract for 12 months to advertise on a website that does nothing except to collect money from business owners.

    Local.com is a complete fraud, there is no reason to talk to these people when they call, hang up the phone. They can’t answer your questions because they are a scripted scam to entice business owners with cheap advertising. Google/yahoo/etc do not direct searchs towards ‘local.com;’ it exists within itself and thus is a complete waste of money.

    Ask the reps how any human being would be directed to there website? They do not have an answer.

    Ethan
    Retrovideo,
    Tempe, AZ

  • zsivanyka // January 23, 2009 at 8:32 pm | Reply

    Thanks for all this info.
    One of my Client called me, that he wants to sign up for Local.com service. So I did my research and found this blog!

    Thanks,
    Monika
    http://www.turekdesign.com

  • kamaranti // July 28, 2009 at 11:50 pm | Reply

    You’re so kind about local.com. No legitimate business resorts to such “cheap” methods as confusing people and misrepresenting information. Why even talk to people that talk like robots? (I know they are people trying to make a living, but still…) I keep getting spam from local.com and I am just verifying their status. So thanks for posting!

Leave a Comment