Things I Wish I’d Done and Think I’ll Do



Information processing, technical implementation and solid content are the three biggest challenges we have.  That grand pronouncement is based on my experience and that of others I’ve talked to.
Here are things I wanted  to do in 2007 and didn’t:
-Get to know my Mac that I bought last year. -Install Leopard on my Mac.
-Really understand the capabilities of most Google programs.
-Really understand all the capabilities of WordPress 
-more fully utilize my iPod. -Better understand my Sansa media player.

-Understand all the capabilities of my Zoom H2 and H4 digital audio recorders

-Produce more videos.
-Explore and understand the capabilities of Facebook.
What does all of this have to do with marketing my university?  Oh, everything.
While poking around the Web doing research for a new blog I’m putting together, I read several entries about all the independent bookstores that have gone belly up.  When I go to sites like PC World, their articles  and blogs are loaded with links, and more and more of the links are to videos posted on YouTube.
Facebook sites –the good ones — have become little websites.  While doing research for this post, I found a presentation by Mark Zuckerberg on the new Facebook platform and applications.  It’s worth the time to watch it. 
The way we search for information and the way we communicate has shifted so radically and it’s so unbiquitous that I feel silly for even pointing it out.*
We have to understand and use Facebook to communicate with the audience we’re seeking.  As I mentioned in a previous post, with the advent of Flip Video, communicating with video is going to grow tremendously.
Google continues to quietly and consistently revolutionize the way we get, store, distribute and, yes, mashup information. I’m typing –no, keystroking –this on Google Docs which I’ve come to depend upon because I can add to it, revise or  from any computer — home, office, hotel.
The iPod is a hard drive that can do 90 percent more than we use it for, (reminding me of the scientific footnote that we only use 10% of our brain).
I have used my two Zooms with great success, turning presentations and concerts into podcasts, but I need to use them more.

The one thing that doesn’t change is the importance of good content.
Beuwolf,  Hamlet, Huck Finn and Forest Gump, live because they’re good stories, human stories.
That’s what’s become of utmost importance in all marketing, especially higher education.
But while I’m searching for, or creating, content, I’ve got to do the above, plus try to keep up with whatever else Sergey, Larry, Bill, Steve, Mark and others offer in ’08.
What are some things you wished you had done?

*At the chiropracter’s, I sat next to a 14-year-old girl, both of us in neck traction. She spent her 10 minutes texting friends. I passed the uncomfortable time with my Sansa player and Sony earbuds, listening to Fresh Air.

4 responses to “Things I Wish I’d Done and Think I’ll Do

  1. Greetings,
    I am starting a Master of Arts in Education with a focus on educational technology. My passion is equipping teachers and administrators with the tech tools they need to be efficient and to compete in today’s “web 2.0” world. I’d love to be a sounding board for you as you kick around tech ideas as they relate to your university. I am a Mac geek and a Linux geek (to a lesser extent).

    Thanks,
    Matthew
    mattythestranger.wordpress.com

  2. Matthew, I would appreciate feedback, ideas and your own experiences. It’s been my experience with some of the high schools around my university are ahead of higher education in some high tech areas so please feel free to share as you pick up knowledge, ideas and directions.
    Thanks!

  3. I think you need to add to your list…”spend more time with my Jedi Web Geek.” As always, good stuff here.

  4. Jared,
    Glad you mentioned it. I have a whole JWG list! Dust off your light sword and I’ll see you at MacDonald’s.

Leave a Reply

