Sunday Afternoon Thoughts Part 14


I couldn’t believe the timing of my drug bust posts with an actual second bust. What are the chances? One of the offshoots of the arrests that I didn’t mention in my last post was that the hits on my bust series doubled. Why? As people did searches for Thursday’s bust news they came upon my three-part series and clicked on them.

Hey, always a silver lining somewhere. . . .

*

A big thanks to Ray Ulmer, vice-president for communications at Targetx who, in a post about good podcasting, used Mansfield University as an example, along with my initial goals that I have pretty much lived by.

I was familiar with TargetX but not with Ray’s blog. It’s concise, thoughtful and well-written. I’m a subscriber now.

*

Drew McLellan at The Marketing Minute turned me on to Microsoft video that’s making the rounds on YouTube. If you haven’t seen it, you must, along with his commentary.

On his latest post on Web Strategy by Jeremiah, the author lists some new search engines that track conversations about your company or school.

Just as interesting for Web and PR folks are the numerous comments, insights and questions.

*

Just a general FYI as I record what I learn as I go, I’m changing the title to Lonely Girl, S*x, Mystery and Web 2.0. to Lonely Girl – the Creation Continues. We’ll see if that staves off the searches of the lonely, horny and perverted searching for something that has nothing to do with my post.

*

Two Requests:

1. Our Web folks are getting ready to go live with a new web content management system. PR will be the first. The design is done. I’m looking for sites that have really cool category and content ideas. If you have some favorite sites – even your own—please send me the links.

2. I have to transcribe our podcasts. There are nearly 250, Has anyone used software like Dragon Naturally Speaking? If so, what was your experience? Our IT folks don’t recommend it and say it’s much better just to hire someone to transcribe. They’re probably right but I thought I’d check and see if anyone has used any electronic transcription programs.

Feedback, please!

4 responses to “Sunday Afternoon Thoughts Part 14

  1. One thing I don’t like about WordPress is that changing the title does not change the URL. If you notice, your post still has the permalink of:

    https://higheredmarketingblog.wordpress.com/2007/07/03/lonely-girl-15-sex-mystery-and-web-20/

    And that’s what is going to continue to bring the lonely, horny, and perverted to your site. A good lesson for all of us. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Brad. I wondered about that but didn’t check it. You’re right. Good lesson.

  3. From my experience Dragon Naturally Speaking isn’t always able to keep up with multiple speakers, changing web terminology and people talking over each other. And that’s just about the best software out there right now. So you’re probably better off going with a transcriptionist.

    If you’re still looking, I’d love to talk to you about my services. Thanks!
    Shelly

  4. Some very interesting points, there are a lot of websites out there for that…..collegeconfidential.com, gradschools.com, etc

    please visit my blog as well
    marketmpb.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

