Life Minus Internet


I’m sitting on a patio under a clear blue sky in Coronado CA. Behind me is a 10-foot high morning glory bush so old it has an eight-inch trunk. We’re out here on family business.
When we arrived Sunday the first thing I did was haul out the Mac and try to get on the Internet.
Nothing.
I thought we could tap into a neighbor’s signal but all networks were secured. After a couple hours I gave up, knowing I was out of luck. I called Time Warner the next morning to get the cable hooked back up and get internet service. The first opening they had was Thursday.
I was sick. Four long days, broken into chunks of 24 hours, which in turn melted into slots of 60 minutes each.
I didn’t want to do the math. This would be the longest time I’d been without the net in years.
How was life going to work? I needed to get to my email accounts, Facebook, eBay. How was I going to get my BlogHighEd fix?
Four long days. . . .
I read a lot. I had brought a couple John D. MacDonald books, along with Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now which I’ve been meaning to read for two years. I spent time with my mother-in-law, a sweet 85-year-old woman who has been living with us the past two years and was now back in her own home in Coronado.
Fix breakfast, a couple suppers, run to Escondido to meet with her lawyer.
I found, by Tuesday, that the withdrawal symptoms had subsided. I took long walks along the quiet streets lined with palm trees swaying in the light breeze as I passed meticulously manicured lawns of million dollar homes.
There is life without the internet.
The cable guy showed up late Thursday, hooked us up and left. I jumped on my G-mail and was confronted with a classic case of anti climax. I had two new emails since Sunday. I opened my office email and found junk mail and some messages that didn’t need immediate answers. I did answer one to our media consultant and my news director, both of whom replied, asking why I was even thinking about work.
I moved over to BHE. Life was going on very smoothly without me.
Having learned a valuable lesson, I closed Firefox, picked up The Power of Now and returned with a drink to the sunny patio on a quiet island off the coast of San Diego.

*

For something a bit more substantive, check out Al Reis’ thoughts on The Pitfalls of Megabranding http://adage.com/columns/article?article_id=130104

2 responses to “Life Minus Internet

  1. Envious… I always tell people one day I’m going to just snap and pack up everything that doesn’t have technology, take the dog and move to remote Appalachia. It’s going to happen one day… just don’t know when. 😉

    In the mean time I’m just a tech junky. I’m not sure why but I’m just so obsessed by this pursuit of knowledge.

  2. Keep up the good work, tech junky.

Leave a Reply

