Visionary Marketing, Ethics, Student Blogs. . .


Being on my back in a brace for possibly three months has been an interesting experience.  It can be solitary confinement or temporary liberation.  Like anything, the quality of your reality is a state of mind.  I’ve had a lot of time to research, read and realize that no matter how much time one has for the Web, it’s like going through stars in a galaxy only to find there are a million more galaxies.

You can get lost in space on the Web.

But in all my explorations I did stumble upon one of the best articles I’ve read on the Web, marketing and the direction things are taking.  It’s long but Bob Garfield is one of the visionaries in his field.  It’s worth your while to read. We’ll see if facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg takes his advice.  I wonder if any of us will take his advice?

And then there’s the post on the PR Junkie blog about Sara Palin’s writing style and what it reveals.  it begins “Call it amoral or disgusting, perhaps even illegal, but thanks to a group of hackers. . . .”  Both the post and the responses are thought-provoking and  should be of interest to PR folks and anyone dealing with the Web, communications and privacy issues.

Thanks to my news director who forwarded this to me, I see there are other pros in the field who occasionally use the term douche bag.  This editor found himself in the middle of a controversy.

Finally, Kyle has a good post on first year student blogs at Wofford. I’m wondering, Kyle, and others who have student blogs, if you could give an update on how you choose students, how much you monitor content (I’m all for letting them write what they want, within reason) and what the results are.  How do you measure the success or effectiveness of each blog? I’d like anyone who deals with student blogs to weigh in on this one.

4 responses to “Visionary Marketing, Ethics, Student Blogs. . .

  1. Work through this 5-post series of mine, I think you’ll find a lot of valuable student blogger information in there.

    http://squaredpeg.com/index.php/2008/07/28/finding-my-student-bloggers/

  2. Dennis,
    It is really tricky to define measurement of there success. We are starting our forth year of student blogs and they have definitely come a long way and still continue to evolve. So far this year I think we have the best group of first year bloggers yet. Especially Mesha. If you haven’t seen her video blogs they are hysterical. I’m just trying to think of interesting ways to market them to prospective students.

    One of the biggest problems is getting on the same page with our Admission department to fully flesh through how we effectively rate their effectiveness. Of course I’m tracking the subscribers, page visits, etc but I really believe the only way to FULLY know effectiveness is to get a survey that you ask questions like that of incoming students. We do hear stories off previous bloggers being sort of campus rock stars, but it’s hard to qualify that sort of hear say.

    I’m still feeling my way through setting up more and more tracking around the bloggers, but until I can get full coordination with our Admission department to setup full funnel tracking of applications, visits, and surveying what stimulates decisions I’m still very much in the dark like most people.

    With all that said I was showing it all off to someone the other day who works with another school and was quite proud with the level of user created content, videos, and interactive features that we do have on our website. Wofford’s site has come a LONG way in the past two years and I can actually say I’m rather proud of it.

  3. Thanks for the in depth response, Kyle. You should be proud of both your work and your progress. I think student blogs, in the end, are one more tool in the marketing process. As such, most students aren’t going to remember if it was a blog, an ad, a YouTube video, etc. that brought them to a college and influenced their decision to attend said college.
    I do appreciate from your response, that all of this is so new and pioneering that there aren’t effective, accurate ways to monitor and track effectiveness.

Leave a Reply

