Facebook Whining Gets Prof Grounded


A post with three  observations.

Gloria Gadsden, a sociology professor at East Stroudsburg University decided to vent her frustrations with some students on her Facebook.  At one point she asked:  “Does anyone know where to find a very discreet hitman? Yes, it’s been that kind of day …” Another post:  “had a good day today, DIDN’T want to kill even one student. Now Friday was a different story.” (Full article)

Most of us know there is no privacy on the Web.  Whispers  amplify into roars.  Secrets evaporate upon “send” contact.   A closed circle leaks like a broken dam.

Of course the statements got back to the kids targeted.   ESU investigated and put Gadsden on paid administrative leave.   The story  made the rounds on the Web and wound up in the national media, including USA Today.

Observation one:  No secrets on Web.

Observation two: Don’t believe everything you read, even in the respected traditional national media.

Why?

Because the Chronicle of Higher Education also ran a story on the incident, but it exposed a few more complications.  First, the professor is black and had written a piece for the Chronicle last year that she said proved to be controversial.  She felt this influenced the university’s action.

The USA Today piece didn’t include this information even though the Chronicle article came out before the USA Today story.  Did they intentionally leave it out?  Did they not do even the most cursory research?

Observation three:  Blog High Ed’s own Brad Ward of BlueFuego was quoted in the USA Today article.  Congratulations, Brad!

Finally,  I have a suggestion.  Every post-graduate program should create a  course that’s been needed in higher education for centuries.    It must to be a requirement so that when people earn their PhD they’ve at least been exposed to three credits worth of Common Sense.

More thoughts later.

46 responses to “Facebook Whining Gets Prof Grounded

  1. anicholsonusat

    Hi there. I saw your post and just wanted to give you some context regarding the piece you saw on USA TODAY. We’ve recently started a new partnership with Insider Higher Ed, where we run their content on our site. The piece that you link to is one which fell under this arrangement. Here’s the story by Jack Stripling on InsideHigherEd.com http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2010/03/02/facebook

    Definitely lots of chatter on the topic!
    -Alex Nicholson (anicholson (at) usatoday.com)

  2. Higher learning clearly doesn’t mean higher intelligence. Facebook etc have been around for years and if it’s taught us anything it’s that we’re responsible for our own privacy.

    Maybe someone should teach a “Noobs 101 – Social Media and You” course.

    PS: The prof is a schmuck. As anyone can clearly see this isn’t a colour issue, it’s a competency issue. And she clearly isn’t when it comes to Social Media.

  3. Skylar Gonzalez

    I don’t think there’s anything accurate about this blog. She did NOT have any students on facebook page. She was new to facebook. And you idiots are just as irresponsible as USA Today. How about doing a lick of research before you start a blog?

  4. Great article, I think we live in a digital time where everything is watched, and you are right, there are no secrets!

    Please feel free to visit my blog on the latest in higher ed marketing, marketmpb.sosblog.com

  5. I really love to read some of the great resources here about business. Thanks for sharing.

  6. I’m looking for a human jelly bear have u seen itprefabrik

  7. available in large print to be pathetic. Once an ereader comes out with a decent sized screen so you can use large fonts and keep more than a handful of

  8. movies have ever been made total mess after ebay bought them, asking users to PAY to play? for what exactly when twitter is free? hence why it’s a failure.. This movie is off-the

    http://www.dusakabin.eu

    blog content and articles has been very useful for me.

  9. It was fine, but I have already worked today. There are some changes at the work.

  10. Please feel free to visit my blog on the latest in higher ed marketing, marketmpb.sosblog.com

  11. I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberatin

  12. I struggle to keep that fire going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  13. hospital large print to be pathetic. Once an ereader comes out with a decent sized screen so you can use large

  14. Gloria Gadsden, a sociology professor at East Stroudsburg University decided to vent her frustrations with some students on her Facebook. At one point she asked: “Does anyone know where to find a very discreet hitman

  15. Alternative zu AdWords. Die Analyse in puncto Website-Marketing ist immer

  16. sure I am not the only kid that made up names and stories about my ntasy especially helped the vegetables go down easier. Broccoli florets were trees, cauliflower were my birch trees, brussels sprouts were

  17. keep that fire going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it b

  18. I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberati

  19. o one giving it my all for a certain amount of time. Social Media is a place where we might be able to find others(those that we

  20. Thank you to my family who regularly tune in to read this stuff. I am glad i

  21. I struggle to keep th I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and dogh it before I am on a different topic.

  22. free of cholesterol and trans fats, contains natural antioxidants, and is a source of vitamin E, calcium, potassium, iron, and magnesium. It is almost hard to believe that with all this good stuff that it tastes any good.

  23. members who submitted bug reports, feature requests, and feedback on the

  24. Broccoli florets were trees, cauliflower were my birch trees, brussels sprouts were

  25. It is almost hard to believe that with all this good stuff that it tastes any

  26. Does anyone know where to find a very discreet hitman

  27. I am looking around on the net searching for the best way to start this blog thing and your website happens to be extremely professional.

  28. If it’s not happening in both SM and in our routine/daily lives, I can see the Law of Diminishin

  29. tually, and dogh it before I am on a different topic.

  30. vent her frustrations with some students on her Facebook. At one point she asked

  31. vitamin Ehard to believe that with all this good stuff that it tastes any good.

  32. At one point she asked

  33. florets were trees, cauliflower were my birch trees, brussels sprouts were

  34. in fact such encodings by setting up a site associated with ozone sauna you would like to try to support me in this regard did this by taking advantage of the privileges of the forum would like to thank

  35. conversion of natural fuels in the developing world with technology arttdı now everyone talks about the friends made ??of natural unnaturalness Fela s club opened

  36. shares in this blog is really nice, actually,
    I no longer have to follow the internet world
    of blogs to take advantage of this style, I would
    like to set up a site, but recently I tried I could
    not have a friend View a school he did not know, but
    my room will help me more to move forward on cı I’m
    jealous already kurmayacağım also …

  37. shares in this blog is really nice, actually,
    I no longer have to follow the internet world
    of blogs to take advantage of this style, I would
    like to set up a site, but recently I tried I could
    not have a friend View a school he did not know, but
    my room will help me more to move forward on cı I’m
    jealous already kurmayacağım also …

  38. shares in this blog is really nice, actually,
    I no longer have to follow the internet world
    of blogs to take advantage of this style, I would
    like to set up a site, but recently I tried I could
    not have a friend View a school he did not know, but
    my room will help me more to move forward on cı I’m
    jealous already kurmayacağım also ..

  39. my uncle no longer flows out of sleep refreshing towels cursor would follow you.

  40. Branda
    brandacı
    branda kumaş
    branda çeşitleri
    branda tente
    tente

  41. I am looking around on the net searching for the best way to start this blog thing and your website happens to be extremely professional.

  42. Thank you very much for informing

  43. This is one of the most awaited event most designers are looking forward to. I’ll definitely be part of this activity. Can’t wait to see new amazing vector designs

  44. you issues in this sense is obviously a very good site is full suits me very carefully, but with are more intensive follow-up will have mixed commentss and are you teacher mothers ?

  45. Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  46. Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

Leave a Reply

